Reality Vs. Reasoning

Has anyone ever told you to “be reasonable”? You usually hear that terminology when you are about to make a radical change for the better or even step out on faith.

I made the commitment to cut bread and sweets from my diet for an extended period of time. I did this after  years of struggling with weight loss and consistent exercise. You see, I had to face the reality that inconsistency was hindering my progress so after being consistent with exercising 3-5 times a week for two months, I decided to face the reality that I need to make radical changes in my diet to boost the weight loss. Well two weeks into my program, I had an overwhelming craving for chicken salad.

So? What’s the big deal? The big deal is…if I am going to have some chicken salad I need some type of bread, Croissant, roll , crackers, something to eat it with! So, I bought the chicken salad and a package of Hawaiian rolls. THE BEST, softest and filling bread ever and they are so little so , no big deal right? WRONG? My reasoning was setting me up for a real dose of regression. You see, the reason why I have to cut out sweets and bread is because once I eat a little. I want more. Then, before I know it, I am totally off track, mad, and sluggish.

Here is why I say that we must face reality and stop reasoning with our weaknesses; The only way something that is a weakness can become a strength is if we exercise discipline and self-control to overcome it. Read more about that here.  https://aprildishon.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/be-careful-what-you-pray-for/

So the next time that you are tempted to compromise on the boundaries that you have set in place to help you to reach your goals, whatever they are, don’t let your reasoning overtake your reality.

This entry was posted in commitment, Reality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality Vs. Reasoning

  1. Sharon Ernst says:

    Great post, April! Sometimes I think we are a society of compromisers, and the only way to reverse that trend is our self discipline at home and within ourselves. Be clear on our boundaries, for us and our children, and STICK TO THEM! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Making a commitment too YOU, | Shera Phillips

Leave a Reply

